Japan Society honors USJF President Dr. George R. Packard

June 11, 2014 Latest News

The Japan Society of New York presented USJF President Dr. George R. Packard with its Japan Society Award at their annual gala dinner on June 5, 2014.GRP_JS

USJF Announces Grants Awarded in April 2014

May 25, 2014 Latest News

The United States-Japan Foundation is pleased to announce grants awarded during its April 2014 funding cycle. Link here for details.


April 17, 2014 Latest News


The US-Japan Foundation is proud to announce the newest class of Delegates to the US-Japan Leadership Program (USJLP). The purpose of USJLP is to develop a network of communication, friendship and understanding among the next generation of leaders in the U.S. and Japan. The Program aims to foster a continuing dialogue among rising stars in leadership from a variety of backgrounds and professions. It starts this process by bringing together some 20 young leaders, ages 28-42, from each country for two intensive weeklong conferences over two years, with discussions revolving around historical and current issues in bilateral relations, as well as issues reaching beyond our two countries. Through serious conversation as well as recreation and shared cultural activities it seeks to nurture lifelong relationships.

Once selected for the Program, members gain lifelong access to the unique pool of USJLP talent and are able to engage in activities that take place throughout the U.S. and Japan, from intellectual gatherings to informal meetings. After fourteen years the USJLP network boasts roughly 325 alumni in both countries. Prominent alumni of the Program include members of the House of Representatives Taro Kono, Motohisa Furukawa and Keiichiro Asao, renowned violinist Midori Goto, Claire Chino (Executive Officer, Itochu Corporation), Johnathan Capehart (The Washington Post), Dr. Mona Khanna (Fox Chicago News), composers Todd Frazier and Christopher Theofanidis, racing driver Keiko Ihara, NASA astronaut Dan Tani, actor Testuya Bessho, Nevada state senator Aaron Ford, U.S. Ambassador to Sweden Mark Brzezinski, and Olympic silver medalist Yuko Arimori.

The pool of candidates for seats at the 2014 conference was extremely competitive. In addition to leadership criteria, selections for each class aim to shape that year’s unique delegation of first and second-year participants with diverse representation of professions, geographic range and perspectives. In total, 26 Delegates (16 American and 10 Japanese) will join 20 returning second year Delegates for the Program’s Fifteenth Annual Conference in Seattle from July 19-26, 2014. The Class of 2014-2015 will convene together for their second conference to be held in July 2015 in Kyoto and Tokyo. Delegates will be joined by Fellows (alumni) on the final two days of each conference, creating new and strengthening existing inter-class bonds.

2014-2015 Japanese Delegates:

    • Ms. Mayumi Fukushima, Ph.D. Candidate, Department of Political Science, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    • Mr. Ryosuke Hayashi, Deputy General Manager, Overseas Business, Administration Department, SBI Holdings, Inc.
    • Mr. Shugo Ikoh, Opera and Stage Director
    • Mr. Daisuke Kan, Executive Director, Cheerio Group
    • LCDR Takuo Kobayashi, Lieutenant Commander, Plans and Programs Division, Maritime Staff Office, Japan Maritime Self-Defense Force
    • Dr. Junya Nishino, Associate Professor, Faculty of Law and Politics, Keio University
    • Dr. Makiko Oku, Program Leader, Gender Program / Visiting Scholar, Center for the Study of Genocide and Human Rights, Rutgers University
    • Ms. Aki Shiozawa, Manager, Global Outcome & Epidemiology Research, Takeda Pharmaceuticals International, Inc.
    • Mr. Shinichi Wada, Deputy Director, Operation Department, Bank of Japan

2014-2015 American Delegates:

      • Mr. John Berman, Anchor, CNN
      • Mr. Lawrence Cann, Founder and CEO, Street Soccer USA
      • Dr. Frances Colon, Deputy Science and Technology Adviser to the Secretary of State, U.S. Department of State
      • Mr. Ezechiel Copic, Liaison to the U.S. Treasury’s Office of Debt Management, Federal Reserve Bank of New York
      • Ms. Morgan Courtney, Burma Engagement Lead, Bureau of Conflict and Stabilization Operations, U.S. Department of State
      • Dr. Clark Cully, Chief of Staff, Office of Global Strategic Affairs, Office of the Secretary of Defense
      • Dr. Matthew Hindman, Associate Professor, School of Public Affairs, George Washington University
      • Mr. Michael Hodge, Associate Director of Design, Tianhua Architecture & Planning Ltd
      • Dr. Kenji Kushida, Research Associate in Japanese Studies, Shorenstein Asia-Pacific Research Center, Stanford University
      • Mr. Paul Nitze, Special Assistant U.S. Attorney, U.S. Department of Justice
      • Ms. Madeline Otto Grant, Director, Federal Government Relations, Group Health Cooperative
      • Hon. Jacqueline Robinson, Vice Mayor, City of Pasadena, CA
      • Ms. Kristine Schenck, Special Assistant to the Chief of Naval Operations, Navy Asia Pacific Advisory Group, U.S. Navy
      • Cmdr. Guy Snodgrass, F/A-18 Hornet Pilot; Prospective Executive Officer, Strike Fighter Squadron ONE NINE FIVE, U.S. Navy
      • Ms. Ginger Wange, Science and Technology Development Manager, Twin Cities Public Television
      • Capt. Brian Willis, 62d Operations Group Executive Officer; C-17 Instructor Aircraft Commander, U.S. Air Force

Fall 2014 funding cycle

March 1, 2014 Grants, Latest News

Letters of Inquiry for the Foundation’s Fall 2014 funding cycle are due by July 15, 2014. Details regarding our application are available here.

October 2013 Grants Awarded

February 8, 2014 Grants, Latest News

The Foundation announces grants awarded during its October 2013 funding cycle. Please click here for Recent Grants.

Elgin Heinz Outstanding Teacher Award Applications

February 8, 2014 Elgin Heinz Teacher Award, Latest News

Elgin Heinz Outstanding Teacher Award Applications are due February 1, 2015. Please click here for Elgin Heinz Eligibility Requirements.